Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

Unable to install qbittorrent

Octopuss

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2019
Messages
228
I am probably doing something wrong, but I have no idea what.
When I try to install qbittorrent, it's stuck at "50.00% - net-p2p/qbittorrent" for quite some time, and then fails with this error:
"[EFAULT] Exception: RuntimeError: + Acquiring DHCP address: FAILED, address received: 0.0.0.0/8 Stopped qbittorrent due to DHCP failure occured, destroyed qbittorrent."

I have FreeNAS running in a VM and simply expected the plugin to get an IP address from the DHCP server.
Is that wrong assumption and I need to do something specific?
 
D

dlavigne

Guest
Which FreeNAS version? Also, what is the output of ifconfig ?
 

Octopuss

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2019
Messages
228
Latest version of course.

Shell doesn't seem to understand Ctrl+C so I can't paste it here.
 

Octopuss

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2019
Messages
228
Ok, SSH worked.

vmx0: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 15 00
options=60039b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,TSO4,TS O6,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
ether 00:0c:29:20:7c:a3
hwaddr 00:0c:29:20:7c:a3
inet 192.168.2.6 netmask 0xffff0000 broadcast 192.168.255.255
nd6 options=9<PERFORMNUD,IFDISABLED>
media: Ethernet autoselect
status: active
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 16384
options=600003<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x2
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
nd6 options=21<PERFORMNUD,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
groups: lo
bridge0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
ether 02:66:06:5d:dd:00
nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>
groups: bridge
id 00:00:00:00:00:00 priority 32768 hellotime 2 fwddelay 15
maxage 20 holdcnt 6 proto rstp maxaddr 2000 timeout 1200
root id 00:00:00:00:00:00 priority 32768 ifcost 0 port 0
member: vmx0 flags=143<LEARNING,DISCOVER,AUTOEDGE,AUTOPTP>
ifmaxaddr 0 port 1 priority 128 path cost 2000
 

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
Joined
Sep 12, 2014
Messages
4,434

bbenz3

Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2012
Messages
69
I am having the same issue and I am starting to wonder if it has something to do with the ESXi virualized hardware.
 

bbenz3

Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2012
Messages
69
I just got my issue fixed and maybe you have the same one.

Likely covered / thought of, but doesn't the Port Group assigned to the FreeNAS VM need to contain both the following with VNET?
  • Promiscuous mode = Accept (or "Inherit from vSwitch" provided set there)
  • Forged trasmits = Accept (or "Inherit from vSwitch" provided set there)
 

bbenz3

Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2012
Messages
69

Octopuss

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2019
Messages
228
I just hope it's not a bad security practice or something.
Plus the network settings in ESXi is still pure mystery to me. Virtual swiches, groups,... jesus, my head is like a baloon just thinking about it.
 

bbenz3

Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2012
Messages
69
I don't think it is a big deal. If you really wanted to change it around for security reasons you could isolate the one port the FreeNAS was connected to and move everything else to a separate vswitch. However for a home network I don't think that it's anything to worry about.
 

Octopuss

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2019
Messages
228
This assumes you have more than two LAN ports available I guess. I could do this later when I get a 10Gb card, but right now one port is simply the entire local network, so I think that wouldn't be possible.

I need a friend who is into virtualization and networking, heh.
 

bbenz3

Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2012
Messages
69
I actually have one of those I can reach out to but I think I have figured out how to do it the correct way. First you create a new port group just for the FreeNAS box and you setup the security on it so that it function the expected way. Then you connect that port group to the switch that has your internal LAN physical nic attached. Essentially you are creating multiple port groups on a single virtual switch thus allowing you to setup different security architectures on the different port groups.
 

mattheja

Neophyte
Joined
Nov 21, 2017
Messages
9
I'd like to bump this thread. It fixed my issue with my FreeNAS/ESXi box, where I could not get my jails to have network access outside the FreeNAS VM.


This blog post from my man Chris Wahl explains the missing gap. I took tcpdumps, and could not figure out why my vSwitch was dropping my packets from the jail, then I stumbled across the thread, which triggered my brain for a post I read on Wahl's blog earlier. It all makes sense.
 
Joined
May 10, 2020
Messages
3
I was hoping this would fix it for me, since it sounded exactly the same. But sadly enough I still have the same error :(
Error: [EFAULT] + Acquiring DHCP address: FAILED, address received: 0.0.0.0/8 Stopped testjail due to DHCP failure.

Have you maybe done some other things to get it to work properly?
 
Joined
May 10, 2020
Messages
3
I have my ESXI on a static ip ending in 66
FreeNAS is on static 67
And I decided to turn it on for both my vSwitch as my port group
1589131563808.png

1589131803814.png
 

mattheja

Neophyte
Joined
Nov 21, 2017
Messages
9
I was hoping this would fix it for me, since it sounded exactly the same. But sadly enough I still have the same error :(
Error: [EFAULT] + Acquiring DHCP address: FAILED, address received: 0.0.0.0/8 Stopped testjail due to DHCP failure.

Have you maybe done some other things to get it to work properly?
Looking over my configuration, my port groups are set like this:

Security policy
Allow promiscuous mode
Yes
Allow forged transmits
Yes
Allow MAC changes
No

While my vSwitch with my port groups is running default settings (all security policies set to No).

If this does not work, tell me your full networking configuration and connectivity. Any vlans or DHCP relay?
 
Top