Unable to create folders after upgrading to 9.2.1.6

Status
Not open for further replies.

DataJunkie

Cadet
I've been running FreeNAS 9.2.1.5 for about five months and just recently upgraded to 9.2.1.6. Now I'm finding that I can view folders, copy and modify files within folders, but I can't create new folders. Whenever I try to do this, I get the message "Finder wants to make changes. Type your password to allow this.".

I've searched the forums and the only thing I found relevant was that 9.2.1.6 now does permissions "correctly", but I'm a Unix noob so I have no idea what is correct.

Here's my server setup, we use it for sharing photos and music with five family members at home:
  • Shuttle case with i5, 8GB ram, 2x 1.5TB Seagate and FreeNAS on 16GB USB
  • One ZFS volume named "storage", lz4 compression, Enable a time set to Inherit, Quota is 0. Reserve is 0 ZFS dedup set to Inherit.
  • Several ZFS datasets all have same behaviour. Compression set to Inhert, Share type Windows (I just found this, I was expecting Unix), Enable a time is Inherit and ZFS Duplication set to Inhert.
  • Permissions have been opened up. Everyone at home is part of a group named Family. As I was trying to fix this. Now Volume set to Owner user: root and Owner group: Family. Mode is 770. Permission Type: Unix. ZFS datasets have same permission settings except Permission Type set to Windows / Mac ACL (now I'm not sure if this should be Unix as well)
  • Shares are Apple AFP Shares. Allow list has been set to @Family. AFP3 Unix Privs is checked, Default file permissions are 770. And default directory permissions are 770. Default umask is 000.
I'm connecting to the server with a Mac running latest OSX 10.9.4 through Linksys router. Same behaviour both wireless and wired (wasn't expecting a diff, just throwing it out there).