Truenas Scale - The web interface cannot be accessed (IP issues)

jaipee12

Cadet
Hi, I am quite new to networking, however I have been doing my own research on this issue for weeks now and cannot get my NAS device to work correctly.

Originally I bought a Terramaster f4-423 and installed Truenas scale as my OS (instead of using terramaster's OS). Everything went well and i set up a SMB so I could it use it for PLEX. It was working well for months. However, it seems as though the assigned IP (DHCP, i did not assign a static IP), has changed. The original IP is now being used by another device in my home network. It is strange because I have not turned off the device or changed routers, it just stopped working (maybe a storm had affected it?)

When i connect the NAS to a monitor i get the message "the web interface could not be accessed". I used the command ifconfig (pic attached) to find the MAC address of the NAS Server so I could see which IP address it has been assigned. For some reason there are two mac addresses, one under enp1s0 and one under enp2s0 (pic atatched). I assume that the second is used as a bridge for use with PLEX? However, after scanning using advanced IP scanner, i cannot see a device on the network at all which matches either MAC address.

Maybe it was assigned an IP which was outside of the scanning range? Regardless, I want to find a way that I can allocate the original IP address back to the NAS server (because I assume it ties with everything I have set up to get plex working). I followed this tutorial to set up plex with truenas scale https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3GpaxFYe3MU&t=73s

I have tried connecting the NAS server directly to my PC via ethernet and rescanning using advanced IP Scanner and it still does not show up. I have also tried scannig using wireshark while connected and it also comes back with nothing.