TrueNAS Scale and 25/40GbE (Mellanox ConnectX-3/4) Setup, Benchmark and Tuning ...

pixelwave

Contributor
This is a follow-up from my NVMe TrueNAS Scale storage build. If you want to read about my journey so far start here:

———

I am trying to post my journey and learnings about 40GbE QSFP in this separate thread because it might be of general use for some. Disclamer I am no expert but I learn as I go so take everything with a grain of salt - input welcome!

In general I chose to go with Mellanox ConnectX-3 PCIe cards because they are dirt cheap (purchased two for 35€ each) on eBay and other platforms. And for homelab / server use they have an amazing cost/value proposition.

There are a ton of different variants out there (not addressing individual OEM variants from HP, Lenovo ..) so I browsed through the official tech specs and tried to assemble an overview for myself:

Pasted Graphic.png

According to most guides and forums best compatibility is when using those cards in ETH (Ethernet) mode instead of the IB (Infiniband) setup. So this is what I am going to try first.

Another important finding is .. that it does not seem to matter which card you get because all have pretty much the same hardware and there is a way to flash each card with the latest 40GbE firmware. Even from different vendors (IBM, HP...). Only the „Pro“ cards have some special hardware that offers a bit more features (RDMA/RoCE v2) and of course you can not flash a physical SFP+ port to a QSFP port. ;) Keeping that in mind I purchased two „MCX354A-FCBT“ cards on eBay.