TrueNAS locks up with "uhub_reattach_port: giving up port X reset"

benk87

Cadet
First, thank you for taking the time to read.

Background:
  • Home system for personal documents/photos
  • Currently not dependent on this build for any storage due to current issue
  • I'm new to FreeBSD, but generally comfortable on the command line (windows developer)
  • Cribbed this build from this video, which since visiting these forums may have been a mistake. sigh
  • I have not been able to reproduce consistently which has made this hard to fix myself
  • I did the following to log all console output to a log file as the below messages were not showing up anywhere in the /var/log files that I could find. They still didn't log as expected.
Hardware (all purchase new):

I am happy to supply serial numbers upon request, just didn't want to dismantle the box to get to all of them:
Configuration:

I am happy to supply other configuration/log information as needed.
  • TrueNAS Version: TrueNAS-13.0-U3.1
  • Previously had a SyncThing jail installed but removed, no current jails installed

Description:

The problem will usually start within a 24 hour period of a reboot.

When the problem occurs, TrueNAS becomes unresponsive. I am unable to see it on the network, the web UI does not connect, you can't reach the login page. Attaching a monitor to the physical box, I see the following cascade of error messages in the console and the console is unresponsive to the keyboard:

uhub_reattach_port: giving up port 13 reset - device vanished: change 0xfb status 0x7fb
uhub_reattach_port: giving up port 14 reset - device vanished: change 0xfb status 0x7fb
uhub_reattach_port: giving up port 1 reset - device vanished: change 0xfb status 0x7fb
uhub_reattach_port: giving up port 2 reset - device vanished: change 0xfb status 0x7fb
uhub_reattach_port: giving up port 3 reset - device vanished: change 0xfb status 0x7fb