TrueNAS Core SMB Shares Multiuser Access

zbyte

Dabbler
I have been using TrueNAS for a few months, it's been working exceptionally well (knocking on wood), as a pure NAS appliance really I find nothing to complain about.

I do have an issue with operation, specifically understanding the SMB shares and how TrueNAS implements the Datasets and Shares.

I read the documentation, the permissions sections and other forums posts as well, and in my specific environment there is something I quite don't comprehend yet after dedicating a few hours to it.

Initially I followed some YouTube video or forum to create my 1st Dataset, named "plxmedia" and per suggestions from that forum or video I created a subset dataset named "plex", permissions assigned were for a user I created as "plex", I was able to access the resource and add files to it with no issues. Later on I added other datasets with other names for other types of data but I followed logic during creating these and are functional with no subset (more on that later).

This is my 1st dataset
1621110890617.png

And this is the associated SMB share
1621110988962.png

1621111073458.png

Now apparently the share that is actually functional is not "/mnt/p19tbz2/plxmedia" but "/mnt/p19tbz2/plxmedia/plex" however when accessing this share with the user plex it shows on my Windows Workstations as sharename "plxmedia"

Now this "plex" subdataset permisssions are these:
1621111767072.png

And the share like I mentioned is functional.

First Question if someone can help

1. Why does the share is presented to Windows workstations are plxmedia and not plex? and why there is no actual share (the Sharing/Windows Shares plxmedia share is pointing to the root plxmedia dataset not plxmedia/plex), basically how come is the share resource working with no actual SMB share directly mapped.