TrueNAS-12.0-U8.1 "Pool offline" after Reboot

DAMatson

Cadet
Good morning folks.

I am new to TrueNAS and not sure where to start. I have attempted to search the forums for "Pool Offline TrueNAS" but it doesn't appear that anyone is having a similar problem.

I am using TrueNAS-12.0-U8.1 as a VM under ProxMox successfully for the last 8 months with no problems. My memory was originally set at 8/16GB, but I have since upgraded it to 16/32Gib as a result of one thread where someone mentioned that 4Gb was insufficient. Here's the latest config for the TrueNAS VM:

TrueNAS.jpg
When discussing

My Physical hardware is a Dell R610:
- 2 Intel Xeon X5670 w/64Gib Memory
- Booting off of a newer Acer 240GB SSD using the CD-ROM slot.
- LSI 9211-4I 9211-8I SAS/SATA 6Gbps HBA LSI P20 IT Mode for ZFS FreeNAS unRAID
- running 6 Dell Seagate 1TB Constellation 2 ST91000640SS 7.2K SAS 6 Gbps 2.5" HDDs

The PCI Device in the screenshot above is the LSI 9211, and it's being passed-thru from the ProxMox metal to the TrueNAS VM, and prior to this problem it had been working successfully for the last 8 months or so. I didn't even notice the issue until a TrueNAS plugin called "PlexMediaServer" failed to launch and I found out my pool was offline.

As mentioned previously I'm a newb, so I'm not sure where to start. I would prefer to recover the data on this pool if at all possible. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

joeschmuck

Old Man
Have you looked at dmesg to see what the pool alarms are? What other alarms are you getting?

I have never used Proxmox so I will ask what might sound like stupid questions.

Were the hard drives passed-through to the VM, or were the drives virtualized?

If the drives were virtualized, and you somehow corrupted them (you or drive failure), odds are you might not be able to get the data back. But I'd try everything possible first to mount the drives to attempt recovery.