Pool Offline after removing Dedup Disk

Topshot

Cadet
Hello,
I am very new to TrueNAS and just did the same thing the person on this thread did.
TrueNAS Core Version - TrueNAS-12.0-U8.1
boot 128 GB SSD
Pool in question:
vDev 16TB WD Red
removed Dedub 240 GB SSD
current Dedub 128 GB SSD
Short Version
I removed and formated a Dedub Disk and my Pool appears as Offline.

Long Version
I have a pool and wanted to add a Dedub. Used an SSD that was way too big to test it out. Added a new smaller SSD to the pool as a Dedub disk, removed the bigger SSD and erased it to use it as a Cache disk (erasing it before testing was not very smart). Result is, that my Pool is Offline.

The good thing I still have all the data on my PC the bad thing it's scattered and a couple of TB.

Question
Did anything change in TrueNAS Core in the last year, making it possible to repair/export or import the pool or do I have to wipe my disk and lose 2 weeks of copy & pasting data.
(as the person in above mentioned thread had to do)

Secondary Question
Am I able to replace Dedub & Cache disks if they break not loosing Data as I might just did?
Should I add Dedub & Cache Drives to my NAS for the reason I just mentioned (sounds risky)?

I hope I included all needed information & Thank you for helping out :)

jgreco

Resident Grinch
I removed and formated a Dedub Disk and my Pool appears as Offline.

Whoops.

I have a pool and wanted to add a Dedub. Used an SSD that was way too big to test it out. Added a new smaller SSD to the pool as a Dedub disk,

I haven't tried this, but, ... what?!?

Again, not having tried this, I would expect that you'd need to add a mirror to the existing dedup disk. Adding a smaller one suggests it added it as a second dedup vdev, which seems weird but I guess at scale there could be reasons to need that ability. The data on the dedup SSD is unique in that it contains the pointers to the actual target block, etc., so loss of the dedup table is fatal for the pool.