The dreaded Not secure/Cert question

bigdonk

Dabbler
I am new to TrueNAS as of 3-4 months ago as well as new to servers in general. I have a test server running well and am still making some tweaks as I learn. I have recently added traefik and pihole to allow me to use a domain name instead of ip:port.

It works perfectly other than the Not Secure issue. I do own the domain I am using, but I don't want to expose it to the public. It is only used on my Home server.

I have read tons of different approaches that include Cloudfare, Lets Encrypt, etc. Every time I think I found a solution it includes other apps or services, no longer works, or seems to be designed for domains available outside the LAN.

Can someone point me in the best direction for my local only needs as well as a link to instructions to do so?

Thanks

danb35

Hall of Famer
To avoid this error, TrueNAS needs to present a certificate that's issued by a certificate authority (CA) that's trusted by your browser, and certifies the name you're using to access your NAS. This gives you two basic methods:
  • Create your own CA, tell any browsers you use to trust that CA, and then issue a cert for your NAS from that CA
  • Get a cert from a trusted CA for your NAS
I suspect that for the large majority of users, the latter will be the simpler way to go, but it necessarily involves at least one third party (the CA), and probably two (the other being a DNS host).

So here are the simplest instructions I can think of, using Cobia's web UI (not sure if anything relevant has changed since Bluefin, but Cobia's what I'm running):
  • Host your domain's DNS at Cloudflare. Their DNS hosting service is free; you don't need the CDN or any of the fancy stuff.
  • At Cloudflare, create an API token with read and write permissions for your domain