System does not support virtualization

evhan

Cadet
Hey all, to start off, I just want to claryfy that I'm pretty new to all of this.

I made a TrueNAS Core server using an AMD Ryzen 7 5700X on a MSI B550M PRO-VDH WIFI. I enabled SVM in my BIOS, which seems to be the only setting that affects virtual machines. But I am still getting this error:

Code:
Error: Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 139, in call_method
    result = await self.middleware._call(message['method'], serviceobj, methodobj, params, app=self)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 1236, in _call
    return await methodobj(*prepared_call.args)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/middlewared/service.py", line 496, in create
    rv = await self.middleware._call(
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 1236, in _call
    return await methodobj(*prepared_call.args)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/middlewared/schema.py", line 981, in nf
    return await f(*args, **kwargs)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/middlewared/plugins/vm.py", line 1282, in do_create
    verrors.check()
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/middlewared/service_exception.py", line 62, in check
    raise self
middlewared.service_exception.ValidationErrors: [EINVAL] vm_create: This system does not support virtualization.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

jgreco

Resident Grinch
This is a product-specific question. Have you asked MSI what settings need to be set in the BIOS for successful virtualization? We're not likely to be able to give you an exact answer for a random desktop or gaming board. These things aren't particularly well standardized and sometimes boards don't even support virtualization.

Arwen

MVP