SOLVED Supermicro X10SL7-F and SAS Drives not found

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike Fuller

Dabbler
So this is my first post, so please excuse my ignorance. Little about me - I've been putting together desktop PC rigs from scratch since the 1990's - but the server class hardware is fairly new. So here is the new NAS rig I threw together for the home network based on some recommendations I saw these very forums:

Mainboard: X10SL7-F
CPU: i3 Haswell
RAM: Crucial Unbuffered ECC DD3 1600 - 2x8 GB
PSU: EVGA Gold 650 watt
Chassis: Fractal Node 804
Boot Drive: Kingston 120GB SSD on SATA0
Planned ZFS2 Array: 6 x Seagate ST2000NM0014 2TB SAS 4Kn

All components are new. I put the box together, FreeNAS 9.10.2-U2 is on the metal and runs dandy. I did some flashing and after some learning how to use the UEFI shell, I have the the LSI 2308 controller running the latest 20.0.7.0 IR firmware and the AMI BIOS is running the 12/17/2015 version 3.0a. So the problem I have are the drives - the controller never "sees" them.

I have a benchtop PSU tester, and the power cables are energized. I am going sans backplane and just connecting the power and drives with these cables:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HZS33U4/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

The SFF8482 / SAS 29 Pin is plugged into each of the drive male sockets. The first free end of that cable I used the motherboard supplied SATA device cables to plug all six drives into the blue SAS headers on the motherboard. The SATA PSU power cables are coupled to the other free end. I e-mailed Supermicro and they said that should work although they haven't tested that exact cable from that specific manufacturer.