Suggestions for a DYI build from a laptop

CookieMonster

Dabbler
Hi,
I am new to the NAS world, and I would like to build my first solution. I've been reading a lot, but I am drowning in the sea of information, and I was wondering if any of you, folks, could give me a sense of direction given my situation so that I could start progressing forward with my build instead of to sifting through all the available info for a year+ without any actual progress.

I would like to have a home server with the following features:
  • NAS/file server
  • Media-server
  • Docker support
  • VM support would also be nice to have.

I am a broke student, so I am on a budget. I have already ordered two WD Red Pro 18 GB drives to start with. They should ship tomorrow and arrive next week.

I have a 2019 Dell G3 3590 laptop, and I was wondering if I could convert it into a decent NAS/home server.
This model is known for an extremely poor build quality: cracking plastic case, display hinges in this model break after 7 months of use (very common for this laptop), poor battery. So, it's not usable much as a laptop, but it's got capable specs that seem to me to be far better than the anemic CPU, No GPU solutions that you get from, for example, Synology for a crazy amount of money.
The reasons why I am considering are the following:
  1. I could save money (as I mentioned, I am on a budget)
  2. It's a laptop, so energy cost savings should be great
  3. Built-in screen, should I have issues remoting into it
  4. It's got quite capable hardware:

9th Generation Intel Core i5-9300H
    8GB 2666 RAM (Non-ECC)
    --> Non-soldered, so can put more if needed