[Suggestion Needed] How many drives should I get for my needs?

YaarPatandar

Cadet
I am a novice at TrueNAS or any NAS at all. I wanted to get suggestions on how many drives I might need for my NAS. My primary use is Media Consumption via SFTP or Plex Server.
  • Should I get 1 NAS Type Drive and have my Media on that, while I will have a copy of the media on a external drive separate from the NAS system.
  • Should I get 2 NAS Type Drive, for this I would like to setup the configuration where both drives have the identical data. One for use of Media Consumption and One as a backup. Is there any RAID/RAIDZ config for this type of setup.
Please excuse me if I have no clue of what I am talking about. This is all new to me and I am learning as I go.

Thanks.

IOSonic

Explorer
Hi,

I am also a novice to TrueNAS and OpenZFS, but I have some experience with storage in general, so I can help you at least a little. :)

I recommend starting with these questions:
  • Is FreeNAS the right system for you?
  • How much data do you have right now?
  • What storage configuration will you use?
  • What is your budget?

"Is TrueNAS the right system for you?"

I hope to share this opinion without disrespect to anyone. I really like TrueNAS, follow its development closely and have donated to it. It is powerful and feature-rich software. I would recommend it to an intermediate-level computer user familiar with storage concepts & protocols. It simply cannot be beaten, in my opinion, as a home storage solution for such a user.

I would not recommend TrueNAS to a beginner user for storage of irreplaceable data. TrueNAS can be complicated to deploy well and maintain if you're shy on storage fundamentals. There will be weeping and gnashing of teeth. If you lose your wedding photos due to admin error, you may be divorced.