Total NOOB looing for help

s3rv3rguy

Cadet
First I will say that I am familiar with using a nas. I have been using a nas for 7 years now. I currently have a synology 718+ which is my second device. it has 2 14tb WD Red Pro drives in mirror.

This is my potential setup for a truenas build which will mostly be used as a media server and file backup.

What I am looking to do is get the new build up and running so I can transfer over all my data. Then hoping I can added the 2 drives from the synology in to the truenas build to expand the storage.

First, is it possible to expand the pool the way I want to double the storage? what is the best way to set this up, mirror or raidz? I can pull a drive from my synology and start with 3 drives in the nas and add the 4th later. Would that be better?

I appreciate the help and apologize if this has been asked before. Just want to make sure I do this right from the start. I don't have a way to save the data off my synology and use all 4 drive from the start in the new build.

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
2 14tb WD Red Pro drives in mirror.

This is my potential setup for a truenas build which will mostly be used as a media server and file backup.
This creates some problems for us to advise you according to accepted best practices...

With the requirement for file sharing/storage and media serving, the best (most cost-effective) use of the storage would be some form of RAIDZ... however with only 4 disks, RAIDZ2 is very expensive at 50% capacity loss and we wouldn't recommend anything less (i.e. RAIDZ1) due to the risks with resilvering on drives larger than 2TB (which 14TB is clearly way above).