SOLVED Stuck setting up IP manually

Status
Not open for further replies.

davydden

Dabbler
I am new to FreeNAS, just installed the latest 11 on my box (ASRock E3C236D2I, full specs are in the signature) and have some issues with IP. This is a home network with some local rebranded (?) router (Fritz!box) from O2 Germany.

I can connect to the server via IMPI (that's how I installed FreeNAS), it picks up IP from DHCP without issues.
But when I start FreeNAS, it does not pick up IP from DHCP. In the manual IP setup i have a choice of two interfaces: em0 and igb0. Currently the only network cable connected to the box is via the dedicated IPMI LAN port. I tried to figure out which interface to use by looking at the output of ifconfig from terminal, but I don't see a matching MAC address there in "either/hwaddr" fields as compared to the one listed in BIOS BMC Network Configuration section. The addresses are different in the last 3 pairs of letters+numbers. I am a bit puzzled. lspci shows two ethernet controllers (as expected): Intel Corporation Ethernet Connection (2) I219-LM (rev 31) and Intel Corporation I210 Gigabit Network Connection (rev 03).

I would appreciate any advices and help in configuring network for a home FreeNAS.

Last edited:
If you read the motherboard manual it says that one port is dedicated to IPMI, connect a second cable to the motherboard and DHCP should work on that interface as well. page 11 says LAN1 is the port in the middle.

davydden

Dabbler
If you read the motherboard manual it says that one port is dedicated to IPMI, connect a second cable to the motherboard and DHCP should work on that interface as well. page 11 says LAN1 is the port in the middle.

Thanks for the advice, I will give it a try...

p.s. I did read the manual, but since I am new to server motherboards I was not aware that you can't use the same port.

some boards share a port like my supermicro X7 did when I first purchased it and some don't like my X8

davydden

Dabbler