Some disks are not shown.

Status
Not open for further replies.

kneitzel

Cadet
Hi,

I am quite new to FreeNAS and just did an installation of FreeNAS on my system:
Mac Mini with i7 / 16GB RAM, internal 60GB SSD / 500GB SSD and external case (usb3) with currently 3 disks (2* 1TB, 1* 8TB).

When I installed FreeNAS, the main install was done on the 60GB SSD and I added the 500GB SSD inside the Volume "System" which is used for jails by default.

So I have the following disks inside my system:
1) ada0 - 500GB SSD -> /mnt/System
2) ada1 - 60 GB SSD -> FreeNAS install
3) da0 - 1 TB -> /mnt/Data
4) da1 - 1 TB -> /mnt/Data
5) da2 - 8TB -> not used - just added to the system.

When I go to "Storage" and click "Show Disks", I only see:
ada0
da2

Before I added the 8TB disk, it showed me:
ada0
da1

So da0 was missing from the start and now da0 and da1 are not shown.

Is there anything that I am doing wrong? I would expect that all my disks are shown.

The system is running fine, the zpools are up and running as expected. (e.g. zpool list, zpool status commands on command line) So I am really just wondering about the data shown inside the web gui.

Thank you in advance for your assistance.

With kind regards,

Konrad

danb35

Hall of Famer
Mac Mini with i7 / 16GB RAM, internal 60GB SSD / 500GB SSD and external case (usb3) with currently 3 disks (2* 1TB, 1* 8TB).
None of this is anything like recommended hardware for FreeNAS, but the USB external disk enclosure is almost certainly your problem.

kneitzel

Cadet
Thank you for your quick reply.

I know that it is not the perfect system for a NAS but right now it is the only system I have to play around. If all tests are successful, then my plan is to get FreeNAS up and running on a DELL T3500 (Xeon W350, 24GB RAM) with 5 internal harddisks (currently running Windows Server 2012R2). That system is of course quite old but at least did a great job in my small network in the last years.