SMB works FTP stalls and crashes

Status
Not open for further replies.

mike117

Cadet
I have a samba share and a ftp share setup on two drives set in a mirror configuration with encryption.

I am able to copy a 2gb file using a smb share with no problems.
However when I try and copy a file using filezilla ftp or winscp ftp the transfer fails half way through.

Scp transfers work, but are slow 12MB/s

I didnt see anything relevant logged to dmesg

Any ideas would be helpful I'm still new to freenas.

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
hardware?
anything in /var/log/messages?
Client machine crashing?
can you ftp to something other than your freenas?

mike117

Cadet
Asrock E3C224D2I
16Gb Ecc KVR16E11/8
Intel i3 4160
Seasonic SSR-360GP
4 - 6Tb WD Reds

Winscp is the client software that is doing the crashing, not the server.
Server is still fully responsive.
Filezilla just hangs and reconnects.
FTP works to another windows machine on the network running filezilla server
As well as to my shared hosting provider hostgator.

Nothing new generated in /var/log/messages when it fails

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
What is your dataset configuration? Do you have dedupe or compression enabled? What is your networking like, do you have lagg or some non standard setup?

mike117

Cadet
Currently I opened volume manager.
Gave it a name, clicked encryption, dragged the box to only include two drives, and selected mirror.
After it was created I assigned it a password using the key button at the bottom.
Dedup is disabled by default with lz4 compression.
Under Services -> FTP I changed the path to be /mnt/small
allow local user login and allow transfer resumption then clicked ok
I then create a user mike with a group mike
I change the dataset permissions to have rwe for group mike
I then create a CIFS share from Sharing ->CIFS with the path /mnt/small

I deleted the array and turned off the default lz4 compression and things still hang.