SMB shares can't be seen from Windows 10 after server reboot

rhowell

Cadet
Hi, relative newbie here. I've got a strange issue that I'm hoping someone has seen before, or can offer me some guidance in troubleshooting.

I set up a freenas server about 3 months ago, and have been using it primarily to run a couple of shares on my family's PC's. All of the PC's are windows 10 home.

About a month ago, I rebooted the server for the first time, while installing an update. After reboot, my windows PC's could not find the mapped shares. Looking into it a bit more, I found they could see the server (\\freenas), but they could not see the actual share at all (\\freenas\main-share). Looking at it through explorer, nothing at all shows up under \\freenas. If I went to map network drive instead, it would ask for my credentials (and give me an error if I entered them wrong), but then would say it could not locate the network drive.

I honestly don't recall how I fixed the issue a month ago - a whole lot of rebooting, twiddling with settings, and then changing them back, and eventually it worked again. The final configuration was the same as I started with. I considered it a random gremlin, and forgot about it. Unfortunately, last night the server reset due to a power outage, and the same things is now happening.

An interesting side-note; I also have plex running in a jail on this server, and the plex media pulls from the plex-media share. I can't access the share on my pc, but through the plex ap, I can access and play the media . . . . . ?

Configuration details -
Server - Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz, 16GB RAM, running FreeNAS-11.3-U3
Pools:
1 pool (homeshare) consisting of 4 X 4TB HDD's running in Z1
1 pool (mediashare) consisting of 1 X 2TB SSD
Shares:
SMB Share main-share, running on homehare pool - I have included screen captures of the settings and ACL setup for the share