Slow speeds transferring large files from personal computer to new FreeNas build

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jon928

Dabbler
Hi Everyone,

Here's my setup:

Freenas Hardware:
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-3240 CPU @ 3.40GHz
Motherboard: Supermicro Motherboard MBD-X9SCM-F-O
RAM: Kingston 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM ECC Unbuffered DDR3 1333 Server Memory Intel Model KVR13E9K2/16I

Storage: 4 Western Digital Red 4TB SATA III 64MB Cache with CIF Shares enabled
BIOS: Onboard Lan Option Rom Select - Set to PXE

Workstation:
ASRock X58 Extreme LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard w/ 12gb of RAM
Intel Core i7-920 Bloomfield Quad-Core 2.66GHz LGA 1366 130W

Setup:
Version: FreeNAS-9.2.1.8-RELEASE-x64 (80c1d35) in ZFSz2

Personal computer has a gigabit onboard jack, cat5e going to router (Verizon Actiontec MI424 revE w/ built-in gigabit), then cat5e going to FreeNas.

My apologies but I am very new at this and I've done quite a few searches through youtube looking for a video that perhaps answers my question and using the search here. But nothing that I've found addresses my issue specifically.

I had 2 4tb drives sitting in my computer that was JBOD that I used to save my videos. I wanted to use those 2 4tb drives in my Freenas set up so I transferred everything onto a bunch of external and older internal harddrives that I had laying around. So I'm deathly afraid of losing anything at this point since everything is scattered around everywhere.

After I finished setting up Freenas, I hooked it up via cat5e cable to my router and got everything recognized and started on the path of setting up plexmedia server and transferring all of my videos over. But when I did that, I was getting horrendously slow speeds. I'm getting 10-11MB/s transfers. Moving over all of my videos, including my raw wedding videos is taking forever.