Slow File Transfer Speeds

Status
Not open for further replies.

Simmers1974

Dabbler
Hey guys can anyone help me find out why my Freenas system has slow file transfer speeds. At the moment when i transfer a file lets say a 1gb file to or from my nas it transfers at 17mbs at the most and 10mbs from one nas drive to another within my nas. Be gentle as i'm a network novice.

My Nas Specs

FreeNAS-9.3-STABLE-201601181840
GA-F2A55M-DS2 Main Board
AMD Athlon(tm) X4 750K Quad Core Processor
HyperX Fury White 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 PC3-14900C10 1866MHz Dual Channel Kit
TP-LINK TG-3468 Network adapter - PCI Express
Virgin Media super hub 2

Robert Trevellyan

Pony Wrangler
This thread will become very confusing very quickly if units are not kept straight. For example, MB/s is megabytes per second, while Mb/s is mebagits per second. For best clarity, just write the words out longhand.

You didn't include details of your drives or your pool configuration.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
TP-LINK TG-3468 Network adapter - PCI Express
There's your problem. Piece of crap Realtek controller with Super China Happy Sun Super Quality magnetics.

Simmers1974

Dabbler
Sorry
2 x 4tb WD Red in stripe
1 x 4tb WD Red in stripe

I didn't know the TP-LINK TG-3468 was Realtek , any suggestions on a Intel PCI-E card to buy.

Would a Intel Gigabit CT Desktop network adapter or a HP NC380T PCI Express Dual Port Gigabit Server Adapter be better

Last edited:

gpsguy

The Intel Pro/1000 CT NIC is an excellent choice. About $30 USD.

Dotty

Contributor
Problem with NIC? I though the OP says he also had issues copying from one drive to another within the FreeNAS box.
Does that also goes out of the wire, hit the switch and come back again?

Perhaps asking the specs of the HDDs, the configuration of the pool and advise the OP with some commands that he could run from CLI to check the actual transfer speed of those HDDs (ruling out the LAN) before trashing the Realtek cards.