Single 250gb HDD - Doesnt show as disk in ZFS Volume Manager

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ampedout

Dabbler
Hello, this is my first post. I have been wanting to create my own NAS set up for a long time. I am now to the point where I am diving straight into it. I am happy to have joined the forums and look forward to getting help and getting more familiar with FreeNAS.

I am using a dual core APU setup with 4 gigs of ram on an Emachines box that I purchased last year and never used. I have an old 250gb HDD in it and I am running FreeNAS off of a 4gb Sandisc USB drive. I am COMPLETELY new to the NAS world and so far, I am having some trouble getting things set up.

I have ordered a 3tb WD Red HDD that should be here in the next couple of days. Until then, I assumed that I would get my feet wet with this 250gb drive. Then swap it out for the WD Red or use it in some other way.

My question is, I am assuming that I can just use FreeNAS with only one HDD, although, every guide shows using multiple. I am trying to set up a ZFS in Volume Manager but the disk does not show up. When I followed another guide, I believe that I set up the disk as an ACL of Unix. With User as Nobody and Group as Nogroup. I checked all 9 boxes under Mode.

I am using the latest 9.2 version of FreeNAS as well. Could someone lend a helping hand in getting my single drive set up? Shouldnt I be using ZFS so that I can add drives later into a single pool? I was thinking that perhaps I did not format the disk as ZFS, but I can not find a place to reformat the drive in case I did that wrong.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
You should read the hardware requirements.. 8GB of ECC RAM is the minimum, which means you are probably going to have to build/buy a different computer.

Ampedout

Dabbler