Running out of space, hard drive upgrade options.

MHELO

Cadet
Hello, I've been running FreeNAS/TrueNas for a little over 3 years now and I've really enjoyed it so far but it's time to upgrade the hard drives because I'm running out of space. Currently I have 4x 3TB hard drives as part of one pool called "media". I wanted to confirm I understood the "Extending a Storage Pool" documentation (https://www.truenas.com/docs/hub/tasks/advanced/extendpool/). Based on the zpool status output below, it shows I have 2 different mirrors. If I wanted to add another 2x hard drives would they have to be 3TB as well? The documentation says "Mixing disks of different sizes in a vdev is not allowed" but I wanted to confirm what this meant. I have 2x new 8TB hard drives which I was hoping to just add as another mirrored pair and extend the same pool but I've read this is not advisable because the performance would not be optimal. I'm also curious what are the benefits of performing the "zpool upgrade" is. Any input and/or suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you.

Output of "zpool status":
Code:
  pool: media
 state: ONLINE
status: Some supported features are not enabled on the pool. The pool can
        still be used, but some features are unavailable.
action: Enable all features using 'zpool upgrade'. Once this is done,
        the pool may no longer be accessible by software that does not support
        the features. See zpool-features(5) for details.
  scan: scrub repaired 0B in 05:03:16 with 0 errors on Sun Feb  7 05:03:16 2021
config:

NAME                                            STATE     READ WRITE CKSUM
        media                                           ONLINE       0     0     0
          mirror-0                                      ONLINE       0     0     0
            gptid/4836a31c-03a8-11e8-9485-ac1f6b251696  ONLINE       0     0     0
            gptid/48eb5f41-03a8-11e8-9485-ac1f6b251696  ONLINE       0     0     0