Root Mount Error - v8.3.1 using Usb Boot Key

Status
Not open for further replies.

daz1761

Dabbler
Hi,

I need some assistance with a root mount error using a Usb boot key with v8.3.1...

I have a MITX Gigabyte AMD 1.6 E-350 (usb 2.0v) and I have a 16gb Sandisk Usb Key with the .img file that was loaded onto the key using Win32 disk imager. I did try physdiskwrite but for some reason it didn't like the Sandisk disk size, so I tried an old 1GB stick I had lying around and it got so far to let me select the key within the command prompt, but as soon as I tried to write to it, the command prompt would just disappear?

I am completely new to this concept and I have searched, but could not find anything I could comprehend as yet. I have also attached a picture of my screen as the error happened.

Any help will be much appreciated.

Attachments

• Mount Root Error.jpg
    Mount Root Error.jpg
    245.9 KB · Views: 274

daz1761

Dabbler
1Gb is too small.

While the manual says "at least 2Gb", a 2Gb flash drive might still be too small. Try a 4Gb drive.

Thanks for the reply. As I said I actually managed to get freenas onto a 16GB Sandisk Usb key, but using win32 disk imager.

I'm actually going through all the draws as we speak trying to find a 4GB stick and the closest I've come to one is a 2GB. I've just tried it with physdiskwrite but no luck again. The command window just disappears.

So do you think the 16GB is too big? as it seems to prompt that in physdiskwrite, but it was funny how win32 disk imager didn't prompt this if this was the case.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
You can use any size you want as long as its bigger than the image(2GB). Because some 2GB thumbdrives aren't 2GB we recommend anything bigger than 2GB. But since the unused space isn't even partitioned or used, nor can it be partitioned and used, the extra space above 2GB is completely and utterly useless.