Retrieve Data Issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

bigman

Dabbler
Hello,

I am new to FreeNas, and have been messing around with ver.8 for about a week now, and have two questions.

First Question

I will be running hardware Raid 1 on two HDD's with the volume setup as UFS (I think because it is not a 64-bit system I can't use ZFS). However, my question is let's say I need to for whatever reason one day pull out one of the drives and stick it in an enclosure and retrieve all of the data from the drive, how could I do that??

Second Question.

When I set up the CIFS shares under a UFS volume everything I put in one share ends up in the other share automatically. If I delete a file from one share the same thing happens in the other share. Why is this?? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Justin

praecorloth

Contributor
Hello,

I am new to FreeNas, and have been messing around with ver.8 for about a week now, and have two questions.

First Question

I will be running hardware Raid 1 on two HDD's with the volume setup as UFS (I think because it is not a 64-bit system I can't use ZFS).

You can use ZFS on a 32bit system. I am. 64bit is recommended, but you should be able to get by.

However, my question is let's say I need to for whatever reason one day pull out one of the drives and stick it in an enclosure and retrieve all of the data from the drive, how could I do that??

Because both of your drives are a mirror you should be able to throw either of them in an enclosure, plug it in to something that knows how to read UFS or ZFS (Probably not Windows) and see everything on the drive, just like it was any other external drive formatted in UFS or ZFS.

Second Question.

When I set up the CIFS shares under a UFS volume everything I put in one share ends up in the other share automatically. If I delete a file from one share the same thing happens in the other share. Why is this?? Any help would be greatly appreciated