Resilvering Repeating after Reboot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joseph Sharbutt

Dabbler
I have been using FreeNAS for a couple of years now and have been very happy with the initial setup and performance the entire time.

I recently decided that I was going to expand a RAID-Z2 pool by replacing 6x2TB drives with 6x4TB to double my capacity.

I following all instructions in the manual to the letter while replacing the first drive. The resilver seemed to go off without a hitch. The problem is that every time I reboot, it attempts to resilver the new drive again. I am reluctant to replace any more drives until I know that the first one is 100% "accepted" in to the new pool after a resilver. Until I can reboot without the resilver process restarting, I am not comfortable continuing with the drive replacements.

I do have one data error on a file that is not important. I have since deleted that file and all snapshots that contain that file.

Will performing a scrub after the resilver resolve this issue? Each of these tasks require 12-24 hours to complete and this is just the first of six drives that I need to replace. This is the first time that I have needed to do any kind of drive replacement with this pool, and although it still seems solid, I feel like I'm missing something.

After the first resilver, the pool was no longer degraded, but still continues to restart the resilver over and over. I'm afraid that once the resilver starts, I have to let it finish before doing anything else. This is taking quite some time. I need a better system for this.

Thanks in advance for the assistance.

D

dlavigne

Which version of FreeNAS? Please post the output of zpool status in code tags.

Joseph Sharbutt

Dabbler
FreeNAS-9.3-STABLE-201503070129

Code:
[root@fnas] ~# zpool status
  pool: fNASRaidZ2Vol
state: ONLINE
status: One or more devices is currently being resilvered.  The pool will
        continue to function, possibly in a degraded state.