Request Additional Eyes on Hardware Choices

Status
Not open for further replies.

dvicci

Cadet
Greetings,

I'm putting together a FreeNAS box, having walked away from the idea of a off-the-shelf unit (Thecus, Synology, QNap, etc.). Can I please bother someone to give the following list a quick once-over to help make sure there aren't gotchas, or things I'm missing? I'm brand new to NAS builds (and this forum), and through lots of research here and elsewhere, have started settling on this:

CPU: AMD Athlon II X2 250 Dual Core
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-880GMA-USB3
Drives: Seagate ST500DM002 X 6 (500GB X 6)
PSU: Corsair CMPSU-430CXV2 (430W)
RAM: Kingston HyperX Blue 4GB DDR3-1333 X 4 (16GB total)
Chassis: Fractal Design Define Mini

I chose the board b/c I already had the CPU laying around, USB3 support, and native support for 6 SATA devices. I chose the chassis for its compatibility with the board, drive capacity, relatively small footprint, fantastic cable management, and its "stylish, contemporary design". The drives and RAM strike a good balance between price, performance, and capacity. The PSU seems overkill, but I'd rather have a little too much than too little. I'm also considering the OCZ 400W StealthXStream Pro or even the 500W ModXStream due to its modular design and SLI certification (which speaks only to its stability for my purposes) - though it would be even greater overkill.