Replacing network card / NIC

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zpunky

Cadet
I searched the forums but found nothing addressing this. If this is a repeat, I'd appreciate a redirect to the existing thread.
I won't have my hands on a 10Gb Ethernet card until after moving stuff to the new FreeNAS box and deprecating the old file server.
I'll have to use the onboard Broadcom NICs for setup and initial data transfer, but for production I'll want the full bandwidth of 10GbE (Intel X540-T1). I'm new to FreeNAS but from what I've read/seen, the primary NIC is only configurable through CLI.
What happens when you remove or disable that?
Is it possible to make it secondary to a newly installed card?
What is the preferred way of replacing/changing the primary NIC after FreeNAS is setup and running?
I'm new to BSD but have moderate LINUX CLI experience; in other words, with a road map I can do this in either the GUI or CLI. (DELL R620, E5620, 96GB RAM, 4x BCM5720 onboard)
Thank you

D

dlavigne

It shouldn't be that complicated. Simply plugin the new NIC into the network and unplug the old NIC from the network. If the network has a DHCP server, the new NIC should get a lease. If it doesn't, you can statically assign an IP address to the new NIC.

joeschmuck

Old Man
It isn't complicated at all. When you install a second NIC and boot up your system you should have no issue configuring the new connection in the GUI under the Network section, no need to use CLI. You can also do it through the Console but the GUI is easier. To use the GUI you need to leave your first NIC operational but once you configure the second NIC you can disable the first one and rebbot to ensure it all works. Remember, the console is still usable.

Zpunky

Cadet
Great, and thanks. I wasn't certain if I needed to edit any files for the OS to recognize the new card.

Easygoer

Explorer
Hi,