Replacing Disk does not work in TrueNAS Core v13.0?

Koala166

Cadet
Hello, I am new to TrueNAS/ZFS with zero experience in UNIX so I decided to to some testing before I entrust my data on it. I used TrueNAS Core 13.0 Release version. The hardware I use is not relevant so I won't bother you with unnecessary details.

So for my tests I created a ZVolume with 5 drives in ZRAID 1 configuration, and added some files to it. Everything worked as expected.

Then I tried to simulate a catastrophic drive loss: I booted into Windows, and I formatted one of the 5 drives. I wanted to see how the drive replacement and resilvering procedure would work in practice.

I booted back into TrueNAS, and I saw that the system correctly warned me that one drive in the Zpool was damaged/missing. So then I tried to replace it following the instructions in the online manual.

It did not work. Clicking the 'Replace Disk' button does absolutely nothing (with either the "Force" checkbox enabled or not). No error message, no nothing. The "Replacing disk" Dialog box remains open with no feedback at all. (The 'Cancel" button works for what's worth.)

I know TrueNAS is free and I can't expect everything to work as intended, but as first impressions go this is not ideal.

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2022-05-24 at 12.41.13 μ.μ..png
    Screen Shot 2022-05-24 at 12.41.13 μ.μ..png
    46.9 KB · Views: 192
  • Screen Shot 2022-05-24 at 12.41.26 μ.μ..png
    Screen Shot 2022-05-24 at 12.41.26 μ.μ..png
    26.9 KB · Views: 224

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity

Koala166

Cadet
Thank you very much for letting me know. I am very surprised that such a serious bug made it on a stable release channel and has not yet been patched with a hotfix. This is the equivalent of releasing a car that does not allow you to replace its tires.

Since I have zero prior experience with TrueNAS, I have to ask: is it usual to have such serious bugs on core features on the "stable" release channel?