Recommendation on TrueNAS setup

pinterpass

Cadet
I'm new to TrueNAS and am in the process of migrating away from Netgear's EoL'd ReadyNAS line, which has served me well for 10+ years. This is my very first homebuilt NAS.

Based on what I've researched, I'm leaning toward mirrored drives (decent redundancy, faster recovery). But because I don't know what I don't know and this whole pool–dataset–share paradigm is new to me, I was hoping to solicit advice on the best way to set up TrueNAS pools and datasets for my use case.

Which is:
  • Plex: Our household's NAS is our media hub. We rip CDs and DVDs/Blu-rays to lossless audio/video (increasingly 4K HDR MKVs) for local streaming, sometimes with multiple family members streaming media simultaneously. A Raspberry Pi-based Logitech Media Server instance (yes, we still use Squeezeboxes!) also draws on the audio repository.
  • Time Machine: We have multiple laptop/desktop Macs and like to have network backup.
  • Multi-user network storage: We use the NAS to access common files from multiple clients, to offload files from clients (archival storage) and to have user-based repositories. Basically, it's a giant attic for infrequently used files and large backups.
  • Possible virtualization: I primarily use a Mac but occasionally use Windows-only software. I do have a dedicated Windows gaming-oriented desktop that I can access locally or remotely. But rather than clutter up my gaming rig with productivity software, it might be nice to have a work-oriented Windows VM that I could access from any machine.
Up to now, I've been using the ReadyNAS paradigm of one big data pool that you parse out through different shares. And it's worked well enough.