Raidz2, 3 VS. Mirrored for backup storage critical

Status
Not open for further replies.

iHeartMacs

Explorer
Hi,

I'm new to ZFS and I'm building my first Freenas Backup Server. I so many of you are great at helping me with my build I thought I'd start another thread just about Raid to keep it simple and maybe help out someone else searching the forum.

My Question is: What are your suggestions for Raid with a system capable of 14 drives in a Supermicro 4U and using a
Supermicro Motherboard Micro ATX DDR4 LGA 1151 X11SSL-CF-O

MOBO link: https://www.amazon.com/Supermicro-M...1-1&keywords=Supermicro+X11SSL-CF&tag=ozlp-20

Information about environment: This system will be accessed by PC's and Mac's with backup software respective to there OS. (TIme Machine, Windows 10 Backup, etc.)
As you know TimeMachine is not easily configurable to be on a schedule so about 6 computers could possibly try to back up at the same time. That's just the Mac side.

Hopeful Requirements: I would like to have at least 48TB of usable storage for backups. I know there is trade off's with how many pools and vdevs. I've done plenty of digging but I think I need the ah ha moment about this subject. Here is my Noob understanding.

If I do mirrored I get better redundancy at a performance loss.
Q-1: If I wanted to be safe do I setup each pair of mirrored Drives as a Pool. 2=Drives = 1 pool
(my understanding with mirrored is if there are more drives in the pool and I lose 1 or 2 then I lose the whole pool if they are on the same vdev)

Q-2: With Raidz2,Raidz3 I can get more performance at greater risk of Data loss. Is Raidz3 an acceptable configuration for critical data storage (backups)
(obviously not doing Raidz1)

Q-3: If I do Raidz3 that means I need three drives for parity. The 4U can hold 14 drives. That means If I did one SSD for boot I would have 1 SATA slot left on MOBO. So I could do 12 Drives and 3 for parity?

Thx for any advice. I'll do the research if you make suggestions

danb35