R710 Build- My first NAS

Status
Not open for further replies.

NASr710

Explorer
Hi all. I am looking to build a machine based on a Dell R710 server. I am new to all this and not IT professional.

INTENDED USE:
Home sharring of files. Photos, video, documents. I would like to locate iTunes music library and backups as well.

I would like to start with 4TB of storage and keep a bay empty for doing offsite backups. Planning on running ZFS but have not yet decided on what software raid to run. I have been playing with FreeNAS for little over a week now with existing configuration. I installed OS on a new thumb drive.

Here are the specs:

PARTS OWNED AND CURRENTLY USED:
-Dell R710 service tag 3tbhcp1 with 6 x 3.5” bays
-Intel Xeon X5677 3.45GHz is quad core. One processor installed.
-DDR3 12 GB UDIMM (2GB x 6) PC3-10600E 1333MHz Optimized (slots a1 through a6)
-SAS 6/iR Integrated controller
-500GB used drives for testing purposes.

PARTS NEEDED:
-Dell H310 3p0r3
-SFF-8087 Cable

PARTS ADDITIONAL:
-32GB RDIMM (8GB x 4) PC3L-10600R (may have more)
-178g Dell Broadcom 0g218c dual port PCI-E Network interface card (currently installed)
-DM479 Perc 5e raid controller E2k-UCP-50(currently installed)

The H310 will help increase the size of the drives and am learning that current SAS1 hardware does not work well with FreeNAS. There seem to be different h310s out there. I was going to pick up a used one off eBay?

I am a little confused about udimm vs rdimm, and RAM requirements. If I were to run a ZFS mirrored configuration using two 4TB drives for 4TB of usable space, I would need approximately 20GB of RAM?

Lastly, I am running OS off USB drive. I was told that this could be problem if it fails. Is there a way of having backup USB in machine (mirror)? I have read that most people make a copy of USB and keep it out of machine.

Thank you.

danb35

Hall of Famer
Planning on running ZFS
Good, since that's your only option with FreeNAS.