Questions and Concerns about a fresh FreeNAS install.

Zeus

Cadet
I want to clarify I am an extreme noob who has barely used Linux or FreeNAS.

As it currently stands my FreeNAS build is throwing errors for my boot SSD. Saying that it is degrading. I had quite a few issues with the install anyways so I took this opportunity to do a mirrored USB drive install.

With that said. I have a few questions regarding data transfer and config files. I saved the config file onto a seperate system already but I'm wondering if that would bring jail configuration too? I plan to import the pools as they are so idk if that would also bring the data for the pools with them? I have a Plex jail running and would like to save the data for it so I'm unsure what my best approach would be.

All in all what I would like is a complete copy of the original FreeNAS build just on a different drive. I'm sure it's easy but I have no clue, so any advice would help.

Thank you.

garm

Wizard
What you backup when you download the FreeNAS config is a copy of the FreeNAS configuration database. With that you can restore your system back to the state at the time of the backup. If the data drives are in the system you will have everything back. If the data drives are missing you can connect them afterwards.