Questions about kubernetes and updates

peter.m

Dabbler
Hi

I'm pretty happy about SCALE being released, and I've enjoyed putting it through it's paces in a VM as a test. I'm almost ready to move from Openmediavault to SCALE, but I have a couple of questios

#1 The developer notes states "SCALE allows Kubernetes to be disabled. The user will then have access to the native container services within Debian". Does this mean I can go ahead and install kubeadm like I would on a straight Debian OS?

#2 How exactly are updates handled? Is it all apt based? If I install additional software (non conflicting of course), can I expect for it not to be wiped? What about udev rules? I run on a QNAP TVS-682 and it needs a little massaging on the backend side to work smoothly

All of these boil down to a greater question - how much freedom on the base OS am I allowed? I've never used TrueNAS before, and OMV is just a nice UI on top of some salt and default configs that makes things smoother. I understand that SCALE is a bit more, and I welcome that, just wondering what the direction is here.

morganL

Captain Morgan
Administrator
iXsystems
Welcome Peter, The answer is that you don't get that much freedom on the base OS. Apt-get packages will be wiped on upgrades.

You can do things via a boot script... these will then get run again on each reboot or upgrade.

Its a lot easier if you add applications/software as containers or VMs. if there's an application/software that needs to be installed in SCALE, then write it up and suggest a feature if you think many people would like it.

peter.m

Dabbler
Welcome Peter, The answer is that you don't get that much freedom on the base OS. Apt-get packages will be wiped on upgrades.

You can do things via a boot script... these will then get run again on each reboot or upgrade.