Question on components in used Super Micro Server

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kuro Houou

Contributor
I have been running FreeNAS now for almost 2 years on a server I built from scratch (Specs in signature), but now I am looking to go bigger :)

I am looking at purchasing one of these used Super Micro Servers, http://www.ebay.com/itm/Supermicro-...hash=item212c7717e1:m:mnIPIwK324fTjmzYGRw7aQw

I have a couple questions maybe you all can help me with.

The backplane is, BPN-SAS2-826EL1 12-port 2U SAS2 6Gbps single-expander backplane
The RAID/HBA is, 1x LSI 9211-4i HBA JBOD FREENAS UNRAID (With SAS2 expander will see all 12 drives)

My first question would be, can I use normal SATA drives in this server. I want to put 8TB (typo said GB) Drives in it.
Second question is, from what I can tell the LSI 9211-4i should be fine as it can be put in IT Mode and looks like they already did that. Any thing else I should look out for with this?
Last question, does anyone know if its possible to add an SSD or two SSD's to this to run the OS or Cache?

Hoping this is the server to last me another 4 years at least, please let me know if there is anything to look out for with this type of server?

Thank You!!

Last edited:

danb35

Hall of Famer
can I use normal SATA drives in this server.
Certainly.
I want to put 8GB Drives in it.
That would be a waste. You probably meant 8 TB, which should work just fine.
Any thing else I should look out for with this?
Make sure it's flashed to the correct version--it should be 20.07.00, IIRC.
does anyone know if its possible to add an SSD or two SSD's to this to run the OS or Cache?
Probably, but I'm not sure if SuperMicro has a bracket for them, or if you'd just need to velcro them inside the chassis somewhere. But unless you have 64+ GB of RAM, the cache device won't be useful.

Kuro Houou

Contributor