Proxmox and OVH failover IP setup

TheMSG

Cadet
Hi everyone

I'm new here, and I'm also new to TrueNAS. A bit of personal background: I'm an experienced software engineer with 15+ years of experience, always have been working with Linux, mostly Ubuntu. I started renting dedicated servers with OVH and using Proxmox about 5 years ago. Networking is far from being my strength, and I'm struggling with my TrueNAS Core 13 installation.

My needs are simple. I have a brand new dedicated server with nothing but Proxmox VE 7.2 installed. The first VM I'd like to setup would be a TrueNAS instance, but I can't, for the love of whatever, complete the network setup.

As a reference, here's the config file I'd be using if I were to configure a new Ubuntu Server which uses netplan (IP's are fake):

Dedicated server public IP: 68.74.101.28
Failover IP used by the VM: 105.29.51.54

Code:
    version: 2
    ethernets:
        ens18:
            addresses:
                - 105.29.51.54/32
            nameservers:
                addresses:
                search: []
            optional: true
            routes:
                - to: 0.0.0.0/0
                  via: 68.74.101.254
                  on-link: true

When I boot my TrueNAS VM, I end up in the "Console Setup" menu, and clearly, everything I need to complete the network configuration is available there. Like I said, network setup isn't my strength at all, so after several hours of trying my best, my vm still has no Internet access.

This is the menu I'm talking about:

Any kind of help would be much appreciated! Thank you.

Patrick M. Hausen

Hall of Famer
Most regulars here use ESXi instead of Proxmox if any hypervisor at all. I have no idea how networking in Proxmox works. That being said, still a warm welcome but you will need some luck to find the help you need here. So I suggest you also ask at the Proxmox forum or whatever platform they use.

TheMSG

Cadet
Thanks for the welcome. :-D