Power Supply with not enough power connectors

Status
Not open for further replies.

freenasrast

Dabbler
Hi there,

Consider a system with 13 3TB drives or 12 3T drives and one DVDROM. Plus a couple of interface cards such as GigE network, and SATA interface card a 2.4 GHZ Intel Celeron chip.

I think this is a plain vanilla type of setup, so I also think it does not need more than a 300W maybe even a 350W. However I can't find any of these PSU with enough SATA power cables or Molex (LP4) Power cables at his power rating. I have to start looking at higher powered supplies.

If I don't want to use a more powerful PSU than I have too, how do I overcome the problem of too little molex/sata power connectors with a lower power 300/350 PSU.

NB: I am not good at soldering. :)

Thanks!

joeschmuck

Old Man
I hope you are buying a very high quality power supply if you are going to be driving that load. If you put this together I would seriously recommend you run some stability tests on your system before putting any data on your system. I hope you have considered the 12VDC amperage draw if all the drives are powered on (Spun up) at the same time and not staggered which is of course preferred. Some controllers handling this problem whilst other do not. This is really the only concern I'd have based on the general system idea you posted. I know this has nothing to do with what you were asking for but you should take it into consideration when buying the power supply.

freenasrast

Dabbler