Poor copy/rsync performance from CMR to SMR drives

Hello everyone!

I am new to TrueNAS user (I just moved from OMV6) so I kinda need help to understand how it works.

I know that there are some threads talking about this topic, that SMR drives are not completely suitable for TrueNAS and rsync/cp performs poorly with them. However, most of these threads only talk about transfer data over the network and not really about local transfer (with rsync/cp) and I didn't have a clear answer to my problem.

Here is what I did to keep data from OMV6 to TrueNAS Scale:
  1. I created one pool with my 18TB to ZFS using zpool command in Ubuntu
  2. I rsync-ed all data (14TB) from my 6x 2.5" 5TB drives to the pool newly created (still using Ubuntu OS, because Ubuntu is capable of reading ext4 and zfs)
  3. Once done, I installed TrueNAS Scale
  4. I created another pool with my 6x drives with Raid Z2 configuration
  5. Finally, I copy/transfer (with rsync/cp command) data back from my 18TB pool to my Raid-Z2 pool
What I don't really understand is that the data transfer in step 2 was pretty fast, it took like 3 days to finish copying all the data to the 18TB pool but the data transfer in step 5 took much longer time like after 3 days, only ~400GB data were transfered.

Could anyone help me to understand why there is a big difference between these two performances?
Again, I know there are threads talking about this, but I don't really understand why rsync between pools (step 5) start with around 200MB/s for the first files but then decrease drastically, the speed stays around 7MB/s in average.
What could I do to improve the transfer in step 5?

Thank you very much for your helpü

TrueNAS Scale System
TrueNAS-SCALE-22.12.0
Intel Xeon E-2224G 3.50GHz
Asus WSC246 Pro S1151 ATX
3 x 16GB DDR4 - 2666MHz Corsair Vengeance LPX
Bequiet! PurePower 11 300W

6x 5TB 2.5" SMR drives (Seagate, WD) (Raid Z2 Configuration)
1x Toshiba 18TB CMR - MG09ACA18TE (Stripe Configuration)

Ericloewe