Pool Missing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bytor02

Cadet
FreeNAS-8.0.3-RELEASE-p1-x64 (9591) / Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6420 @ 2.13GHz / 2032MB / mfi0 Adapter:PERC 6/E Adapter iSCSI attached to 8x 1TB drives

Hello, I am very new to FreeNAS, so please bear with me. The previous Admin left the company and well...here I am.

The problem I am having is that our esxi servers use FreeNAS for VM storage and for some reason last week the esxi servers lost the connection to the NAS. After many days I got the esxi servers to "see" the NAS, but it would not connect after running Rescan on the esxi server. I then went to Add Storage and the LUN's were being presented from the NAS, after selecting the LUN and hitting next the dialog box informed me that the Disk was blank.

I do not think the data is gone because I have some strange things going on in FreeNAS.
1. The iSCSI drives are NOT listed under "gpart show".
2. The iSCSI drives are NOT listed under "camcontrol devlist".
3. There is nothing to select in the Import Volume GUI.
4. "mfiutil show drives" DOES list the drives.
5. "zpool list" returns "no pools available"
6. "zpool import" does nothing

With my limited knowledge it is like the drive is there, but it cannot see the pool / volume.

I have been up and down the FreeNAS threads for the past week and a half. Now I am stuck.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Please let me know what other information you might need.

-Clint

joeschmuck

Old Man
I am not qualified to discuss iSCSI but many other things I can offer some assistance and I'm certain someone will jump in. Let me start with a few questions.

1) Do you have a backup of your configuration file? I don't mean that you create one this minute, I'm looking for an older one from before the problems started.
2) Post the output from "dmesg".
3) Does the GUI work? Meaning is FreeNAS running?