Plex (Version 1.0.3.2461) - FreeNAS 9.10.1, can't claim server, or get meta data

Status
Not open for further replies.

B-dubya

Cadet
Full disclosure, I'm fairly new to FreeNAS.. but I pick up quick so..

I have freenas up and running, I've made groups, users, I have access to my plex media storage folder through my network on my main pc. I can add media to the files, and plex can discover it.

I've tried plex both from the plugin section, and I created a jail to install plex in following Cosmos tutorial.

I can access each of them, I can even get videos to start.

What I can't do is "claim this server" , as well any of the content I get onto the server does not get it's meta data (Posters, info, etc.)

I went into the jail via shell, and I can ping websites (Really just tested google.com to verify it had internet access)

Where have I gone wrong? What step am I missing?

I feel there should be an easy fix to this... Thank you for your time.

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo
This sounds very strange. Are you certain you went into the shell and typed something like "ping google.com" **in the jail**?

Also, please let us know the hardware setup. Especially motherboard make/model, total RAM, etc.

B-dubya

Cadet
Pretty positive... I've got my jail labled "Plex_Server" and in the jail section.. highlighted the jail then clicked on the shell icon on the bottom.. then ping away.
Alternatively, I also tried just going through shell on the left wit jlk and finding the jail...

After your post.. having doubted myself... I have since added SSH access to the jail, and added a user, and SSH'd directly into the jail.. which for this attempt is 192.168.1.123 ... because why not.

Each way I attempted, i was able to ping. Both 8.8.8.8 and www.google.com. So I don't feel that it isn't able to access the internet... but i could still be wrong.