Plex, NAS and OSX - will it blend?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ppedal

Cadet
Hi guys

Total newbie here, so fair warning if what I ask is completely stupid, but here goes:

Can I make Plex Media Server work directly from a NAS using FreeNas?

My current setup:
*Media stored on NAS hard drive
*Plex Media Server running on an iMac
*Uses Plex app to watch movies on iPad - requires iMac to be online for this

My goal: To be able to watch movies from my iPad directly from the NAS without having to have the iMac on.

I was thinking that it might be possible to install/boot Plex Media Server from a USB connected to the NAS (or alternatively installed on a small partition of the NAS hard drive itself) using FreeNAS, but I’m getting lost in all the technical stuff regarding FreeNAS installation, and how it is used/what is even possible.

The NAS i have is a D-Link DNS-320 with a 500GB Seagate drive in - nothing fancy, but the guy I bought it from said he used it with Kodi - unfortunately I didn’t ask him how.

I'm pretty lost - hopefully some of you can point me in the right direction.
Cheers :)

scrappy

Patron
FreeNAS+Plex pretty much go hand-in-hand. My FreeNAS server is on 24/7 so Plex is always available to me no matter where I am. You can even watch your Plex from outside the home when configured to do so.

Unfortunately, you will not be able to run FreeNAS on your D-Link DNS-320 if that was your plan as its hardware specs are nowhere near adequate. If you are interested in getting into FreeNAS I would suggest reading up on it some more. There are many things FreeNAS can do very well, but you must use appropriate hardware otherwise you're asking for trouble.

melloa

Wizard
The NAS i have is a D-Link DNS-320

I couldn't find any specs on this, so I wouldn't try.

In fact d-link is so unambiguous that in the same page says:

"This ShareCenter storage device has a storage capacity of up to 4TB" and "Supports up to 6TB storage capacity using 3TB disk drives".