Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

Plex Media Server not working with TrueNAS

amadir

Neophyte
Joined
Oct 23, 2020
Messages
4
Hi!

Have a quite fresh installation of the TrueNAS 12.0. Music, pictures and videos are loaded in and everything is running fine.
  1. Did a installation of Plexmediaserver 12.1 release-p10 from the plugin dialog with NAT enabled
  2. After installation every looks ok and the GUI is saying status "up"
  3. Through the GUI I stopped the Jail and added a mount point towards the media files I previously inserted into the NAS
  4. Did an ACL config til "Open" (not sure if it is smart, but at the beginning I'll try it) and "Apply permissions recursively" againt the mount point
  5. Started the jail through the GUI - no errors
  6. Tried to enter the web management throug http//:ipadress_of_the_truenas:32400/web - No answer
  7. Logged back in to the jail's shell prompt and enter "sockstat -l4". Many lines with plex i.e. plex Plex Media 6106 60 tcp46 *:32400 *:*
  8. service -e tells /usr/local/etc/rc.d/plexmediaserver
  9. service plexmediaserver status says plexmediaserver is not running
  10. Was thinking network problems but the shell is able to ping any host in my LAN as well as outside my network
  11. Tried to change from NAT to fixed IP without success. After this the shell is not able to ping anything except the TreuNAS-host
So - what to to next? Is there some software firewalls in the TrueNAS?
 

sretalla

Dedicated Sage
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
3,056
I didn't think that NAT was compatible with -allow_raw-sockets

You might need to kill the jail and start it again with VNET and not NAT.
 

Jurgen Segaert

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2016
Messages
416
VNET is already required when using NAT, but I don't see a step for "Add port 32400 to the NAT Port Forwarding options in the jail's Network Properties section".

Or you can just stick with the default setting (DHCP) and set the IP in the DHCP address reservation of your router.
 

sretalla

Dedicated Sage
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
3,056

Dohmar

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2020
Messages
24
Use VNET but no NAT, set a static ip and leave the gateway/route as default/auto. That works for me just fine
 

ThreeDee

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
363
last few times I've setup plex .. I set up the jail using dhcp and then once it's working I'll edit the jail and assign a specific address
 

amadir

Neophyte
Joined
Oct 23, 2020
Messages
4
Did the following:
  1. Stopped the jail
  2. Removed DHCP (vnet already checked)
  3. Inserted a free IP and inserted correct mask and gateway
  4. Started the jail
Now I can't ping no other host than the TrueNAS and the jail itself. Gateway or other hosts does not answer
 

Dohmar

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2020
Messages
24
Did the following:
  1. Stopped the jail
  2. Removed DHCP (vnet already checked)
  3. Inserted a free IP and inserted correct mask and gateway
  4. Started the jail
Now I can't ping no other host than the TrueNAS and the jail itself. Gateway or other hosts does not answer
Checked the default gw in the Truenas/Network/Global Configuration section ?
 

amadir

Neophyte
Joined
Oct 23, 2020
Messages
4
Checked the default gw in the Truenas/Network/Global Configuration section ?
Yes.....that is correct set. And if I go to the TrueNAS shell I can ping everywhere. Seems like there is something internal in between TrueNAS and the jail which is blocked
 

Dohmar

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2020
Messages
24
Yes.....that is correct set. And if I go to the TrueNAS shell I can ping everywhere. Seems like there is something internal in between TrueNAS and the jail which is blocked
And the jail's network interface is vnet0 ?
 

amadir

Neophyte
Joined
Oct 23, 2020
Messages
4
And the jail's network interface is vnet0 ?
Yes...that's correct. Pinging the gateway says "host is down", but pinging the TrueNAS adress works fine. Seems like I can't get traffic out of the jail. With NAT enabled I can at least ping the gateway, but still the Plex GUI is not answering
 

TMCPayton

Neophyte
Joined
Dec 15, 2019
Messages
4
I have been experiencing similar issues with my plex jail not being able to communicate with anything outside of TrueNAS. This started happening to me with the upgrade to TrueNAS 12. I'm hoping these things are ironed out soon :/
 

ThreeDee

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2013
Messages
363
I did a fresh install of 12rc initially and then uploaded my config from 11.3 .. setting up plex from 12rc plugins.. .and then modding the plugin a bit to keep plex up to date a little quicker .. it's been running great.

Maybe something got lost in translation in the upgrade from 11 to 12.
 
Top