Plex ACL permissions

Billium813

Cadet
I'm rather confused by the way I have to configure ACL permissions to allow plex access to my media libraries

Setup:
I have a User "plex", with user id 972. I have configured this user to be Primary Group "media" and Auxiliary Group "guest".

For the storage pool that contains my media, I have the following ACL permissions configured:
Screenshot 2023-01-08 200007.png

I specifically set the Group for this Pool to be "media" so that the user "plex" would have READ access to this pool. However, the group@ portion of this ACL doesn't seem to work! Instead, I have to add the specific User permissions to allow "plex" to read the media. Why is this required? I'm a TrueNAS newb, so please forgive me if there is something super obvious, but I can't figure out WHY I have to configure my ACL permissions in this way.

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
Is this SCALE or CORE? Regardless, I don't believe that the plex user is a member of the host `media` group by default. You need to bear in mind that users / groups in the host have no impact on processes that are running in a jail / app (the jail / app has its own users / groups). This is actually a good thing because you don't want a broken or compromised container to have immediate access the the passwd / shadow file of the host.

Billium813

Cadet
Is this SCALE or CORE? Regardless, I don't believe that the plex user is a member of the host `media` group by default. You need to bear in mind that users / groups in the host have no impact on processes that are running in a jail / app (the jail / app has its own users / groups). This is actually a good thing because you don't want a broken or compromised container to have immediate access the the passwd / shadow file of the host.
Sorry for the late reply.