BUILD Please critique my build

Status
Not open for further replies.

adamjs83

Dabbler
I have read through the forums and interwebs extensively so please be kind as I am still a total freenas noob. I am intending to use freenas to replace two Synology Diskstations using drives I already own along with some new drives. The current workload is as follows:

DS1: 4 250gb Crucial MX100 SSD's in raid5 serving a single ESXI host with roughly 15 very low workload VM's over block level NFS. The VM's are all single purpose windows or debian servers and I am the only user. The only higher workload VM my PLEX server and I am also thinking of adding Blueiris however that would record to a different storage array.
DS2: 3 4tb reds in raid5 divided between 2 volumes,
V1: file level nfs storing a single 2tb HD for a file server
V2: Plex video repository available made available to my plex vm over file level nfs and my desktop pc and windows VMs using CIFS. I also have 2 macs performing time machine backups to this volume.​

New Freenas Build:

1 x SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SL7
1 x [URL='http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819117316']Intel Xeon E3-1231V3
[/URL]
[URL='http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819117316']1 x [URL='http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148770']Crucial 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM ECC Unbuffered DDR3 1600[/URL][/URL]
[URL='http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819117316'][URL='http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148770']1 x [URL='http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811146083']NZXT Source 220 CA-SO220-01 Black Steel / Aluminum-like finish ATX Mid Tower Computer Case[/URL][/URL][/URL]
4 x Crucial MX100 SSD in Raidz1
6 x White Label WD Red 6TB in Raidz2
1 x SanDisk Cruzer Fit 8GB USB 2.0 Low-Profile Flash Drive- SDCZ33-008G-B35