OwnCloud Instructions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cheejyg

Dabbler
Joined
Dec 11, 2016
Messages
31
did you ever access your php info page to confirm your settings?
the next thing I would try is figure out how to enable logging in Apache and check those.
Nope I couldn't get into the phpinfo.php, there was some redirect going on which didn't let me.

Aren't the apache logs the httpd-access.log and httpd-error.log in /var/log?
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2015
Messages
1,155
Seems I have always had an issue uploading files larger than 2gb myself. My server says 16gb uploads are allowed but, uploads this large never finish uploading. They get all the way to the end and never finish. I have done everything correctly, checked and rechecked. Followed the documentation, and could never get it to work right. Small files all work like a dream, and I dont particularly ever think I will need to be uploading any files that are 15gb. I always just wanted it to work 'in case', but alas, it didnt.

*Edit. I forgot to point out that I do not use the PBI, I have installed it manually in my BAMP jail. So I do not believe there is anything in the PBI thats causing this.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2015
Messages
1,155
I next modified my php.ini-production:

You should rename this file to php.ini once its edited. It might just be that easy, then restart the jail, or service apache24 restart.
 

Cheejyg

Dabbler
Joined
Dec 11, 2016
Messages
31
Seems I have always had an issue uploading files larger than 2gb myself. My server says 16gb uploads are allowed but, uploads this large never finish uploading. They get all the way to the end and never finish. I have done everything correctly, checked and rechecked. Followed the documentation, and could never get it to work right. Small files all work like a dream, and I dont particularly ever think I will need to be uploading any files that are 15gb. I always just wanted it to work 'in case', but alas, it didnt.

*Edit. I forgot to point out that I do not use the PBI, I have installed it manually in my BAMP jail. So I do not believe there is anything in the PBI thats causing this.
Ah, at least I'm not the only one who is still having this issue after trying the recommendations from doc(s) and advices lol
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2015
Messages
1,155
Ah, at least I'm not the only one who is still having this issue after trying the recommendations from doc(s) and advices lol
Id be interested if there is a person out there who ever got a 16gb file to upload. I know that browsers are the limiting factor normally, but I think my hard limit was 2gb. I mainly store work ISOs and PDFs at about a max of 700mb, and they upload like a dream. Once I get up over a GB and not sure where, they stall.
 

Cheejyg

Dabbler
Joined
Dec 11, 2016
Messages
31
Id be interested if there is a person out there who ever got a 16gb file to upload. I know that browsers are the limiting factor normally, but I think my hard limit was 2gb. I mainly store work ISOs and PDFs at about a max of 700mb, and they upload like a dream. Once I get up over a GB and not sure where, they stall.
Hey I think I may have just figured it out, I successfully uploaded a 4 GB file through the WebGUI, going to try a 8 GB file now...

EDIT: IT UPLOADED SUCCESSFULLY!! =)
Verifying the file hashes now...
 
Last edited:

Joshua Parker Ruehlig

Hall of Famer
Joined
Dec 5, 2011
Messages
5,949
@Cheejyg
Ahh, I forgot. owncloud's .htaccess blocks php files from being accessed directly unless they are on it's whitelist. I think they might work in the /updater folder though. Anyway glad it sounds like you got it working.
 

Cheejyg

Dabbler
Joined
Dec 11, 2016
Messages
31
It's alright, I got it working already, the file hashes for the 8 GB upload matches :)
 

Cheejyg

Dabbler
Joined
Dec 11, 2016
Messages
31
Id be interested if there is a person out there who ever got a 16gb file to upload. I know that browsers are the limiting factor normally, but I think my hard limit was 2gb. I mainly store work ISOs and PDFs at about a max of 700mb, and they upload like a dream. Once I get up over a GB and not sure where, they stall.
Actually I think it's possible to upload a 16 GB file to upload... I just got my 8 GB test file to upload successfully..
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2015
Messages
1,155
Im all ears.
 

Cheejyg

Dabbler
Joined
Dec 11, 2016
Messages
31
Im all ears.
How ownCloud works is that when a file is being uploaded (from the WebGUI, not sure about the client?) a temporary file is created in /tmp to store the upload, then after the upload is done, ownCloud/PHP will move the file from /tmp to /location-of-upload.

So you'll have to give ownCloud enough time for PHP to finalise the transfer,

owncloud/.htaccess:
Code:
...
<IfModule mod_php5.c>
	php_value upload_max_filesize 10G
	php_value post_max_size 11G
	php_value memory_limit 12G
	php_value mbstring.func_overload 0
	php_value always_populate_raw_post_data -1
	php_value default_charset 'UTF-8'
	php_value output_buffering 0
	php_value max_input_time 3600
	php_value max_execution_time 3600
	<IfModule mod_env.c>
		SetEnv htaccessWorking true
	</IfModule>
</IfModule>
<IfModule mod_php7.c>
	php_value upload_max_filesize 10G
	php_value post_max_size 11G
	php_value memory_limit 12G
	php_value mbstring.func_overload 0
	php_value default_charset 'UTF-8'
	php_value output_buffering 0
	php_value max_input_time 3600
	php_value max_execution_time 3600
	<IfModule mod_env.c>
		SetEnv htaccessWorking true
	</IfModule>
</IfModule>
...
owncloud/.user.ini:
Code:
...
upload_max_filesize=10G
post_max_size=11G
memory_limit=12G
mbstring.func_overload=0
always_populate_raw_post_data=-1
default_charset='UTF-8'
output_buffering=0
max_input_time=3600
max_execution_time=3600
...


^ those are my configs for a successful 8 GB upload through the WebGUI, if you need to upload a 16 GB file in your case I'd change the upload_max_filesize to 16G, post_max_size to 17G and memory_limit to 18G (but I don't think it's good to set this higher than your RAM) and allocate a longer time for PHP: max_input_time=21600 & max_execution_time=21600

lmk if it works
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 7, 2015
Messages
1,155
Weirdest thing. I went in and looked at those files again, and it had 513mb as limit. I know for a fact I have changed all of those files before. Ive installed many number of Owncloud updates over the last many months. My php.ini was still set though. Owncloud admin section still had 16G as the limit. Not sure what happened as mostly like I said, I mainly use it to store small work files, but ill be damned -- I re edited everything and a high quality brrip uploaded fine. Thank you for this. Also I feel like using 16gb of ram is far too much so I used a more sane 1024M. But otherwise, its the first time Ive ever had anything bigger than a GB upload without stalling. Granted it was more of a "can I do this" than a "I need it to do this" type of thing. Either way it works now, so thank you.
 

Cheejyg

Dabbler
Joined
Dec 11, 2016
Messages
31
Weirdest thing. I went in and looked at those files again, and it had 513mb as limit. I know for a fact I have changed all of those files before. Ive installed many number of Owncloud updates over the last many months. My php.ini was still set though. Owncloud admin section still had 16G as the limit. Not sure what happened as mostly like I said, I mainly use it to store small work files, but ill be damned -- I re edited everything and a high quality brrip uploaded fine. Thank you for this. Also I feel like using 16gb of ram is far too much so I used a more sane 1024M. But otherwise, its the first time Ive ever had anything bigger than a GB upload without stalling. Granted it was more of a "can I do this" than a "I need it to do this" type of thing. Either way it works now, so thank you.
Ayy u're welcome, just glad that it works now! :)

Also, what was the option u set to 1024M?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top