Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Should I load 8.2.3

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

Phak1

Dabbler
I am new to freenas. I previously had a HP mediaSmart home server for several years. Not a good experience to say the least. After it crashed for the third time (2 PS then a MB failure) I decided to build my own NAS server. Not knowing how freenas works, I took my two 1TB WD black drives removed from my crashed HP mediaSmart served and I bought a new 2TB WD red drive to add to the server loaded freenas 9.2.1.5 and discovered that I could only mirror the two 1TB drives and stripe the 2TB drive. I was going to use a raidz1 and upgrade the 1TB TO 2 as money allowed. Now after reading the forums, I need to rethink my strategy.

Can I start freenas vpool with the existing drives I have then transfer the data to a new vpool as money allows?

Should I buy another 2TB drive, install the drives in a raidz2 configuration using freenas 8.2.3 then upgrade to 9.2.1.5? I could the upgrade the 1TB drives later when funds become available.

I don't have the funds to buy sufficient identical drives to have an ideal raidz2 configuration.

Any foresight would be appreciated.

My new system:
Lian Li case PC-
GIGABYTE|GA-H97N-WIFI H97 ITX
ANTEC PS EA-380D GREEN RT
CPU INTEL|CELERON G1840 2.8G 2M R
USB Sandisk 8GB SDCZ33-008G-A46 R
MEM 4Gx2|G.SKILL F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL
WD 2TB Red drive WD20EFRX 64M

danb35

Hall of Famer