SOLVED Oh man, what did I do

objecttothis

Explorer
This is reminding me of when I was 14 and first getting into building PCs and tinkering back with MS DOS 6.22. I knew just enough to mess it up big. I'm only learning as I go with FreeBSD and FreeNAS, so I'd say that makes me dangerous.

OK, as a result of my thread here: https://www.truenas.com/community/threads/options-for-not-having-enough-sata-ports.99062/ I purchased a Fujitsu 9211-8i SATA LSI 2008 FW:P20 IT Mode HBA and SFF-8087 to SATA cable. I installed the card in the server and booted it up with no devices connected to the HBA. TrueNAS boots fine per normal, with no warnings (but I have nothing connected to the console). Here is where I start to do the bonehead thing. I made the assumption that this would be somewhat plug-n-play. I gracefully shut the server down and connected my two boot SSDs to the HBA and booted the system again.

The result? TrueNAS does not boot to the point where I can access the WebUI.

Then I thought, OK, this might not be so plug-n-play. I shut the system down and reverted my changes. Plugging the boot SSDs back into their original SATA ports and booted the server back up. Same issue.

To complicate matters, I can't get vKVM working (https://forums.servethehome.com/index.php?threads/cant-vkvm-on-gigabyte-server-board.36013/) and I don't have a monitor connected to the server. I think I'm going to have to do that tomorrow unless I can get the vKVM working.

If I had to guess, I'd say the server doesn't know where the boot drives are. One question I have is "how do I unbork this?" A related question is "What is the proper procedure to make sure that I can connect the boot drives to the HBA and have it boot properly, or is that not a thing?" I was hoping to run the boot SSDs from the HBA and the storage drives from the server board SATA ports. Final question that I hope the answer to this is "no" is "Did I irrevocably lose data?"

objecttothis

Explorer