Offsite Backup drive options

Status
Not open for further replies.

NASr710

Explorer
Now that I have my FreeNAS box set up with two 8TB drives mirrored, and before I start using it too much, I need to set up an offsite backup. Since i have free bays on R710, i was hoping to simply us spare tray/bay and slip in an 8TB drive for backup. I guess another option is using an external USB drive, but I think the R710 uses USB2 so it may be slow. I would rather be able to do quick backup.

Also, I heard you can use a basic drive as opposed to NAS drive for backup, but the prices i am seeing out there are not much different (not huge savings). Drives for external HDs seem much cheaper and have heard of people taking those apart just to get the HD?

I have never done backup before on FreeNAS so any input would be valuable.

Arwen

MVP
I use an 8TB disk for off-site backups. My method is documented in the resource section of this forum. And yes, a free slot would be the preferred method over USB. Plus, using ZFS on the backup disk allows data faults to be detected, (though not corrected).

As for using desktop drives, or USB drives shucked from their containers, my opinion is that it depends on the importance of your data. I would go for a NAS type drive, and use it some what like a cold spare, but with backups. After all, if you have a fault in your mirror, that's more inportantant to fix. That said, I'd only do that if I had 2 backup drives. As you don't want to over write your only backup to restore redundancy only to find out you lost data on you other mirror disk!

NASr710

Explorer
@Arwen Funny. I had responded to your section end of last year, and forgotten about it :)

So you are still using Rsync? Not familiar with it. I guess this is a little more complicated than I had first thought. Is it possible to use the backup drive with snapshot as a back up method?