Noob looking for some direction with design choices

Albotross

Cadet
I am new to TrueNas and the forums, and I'm planning a build later in the year. I'm starting to plan so I can budget and I'm looking for some direction. I have spent hours looking for answers to some of these questions that make sense, but so much of the information I read seems to be dated, in some cases by years, so I expect that many of the answers may be inaccurate based on all the recent updates to TrueNas. Any/all responses are greatly appreciated. So here goes:

My plan:
I'm looking for an expandable system that will serve 3 primary functions:
1) Media/File Server (just a share drive as my primary media consumption will be at home on a wired network, so no Plex server or internet streaming necessary)
2) Backup target
3) iSCSI target for 2-3 (desktop OS) VMs (the VMs will be hosted on another computer via 10g network)
4) REDUNDANCY & DATA SAFETY is my primary concern followed closely by expandability. Cost is at the bottom of my priorities, BUT I am cost conscious. So, starting with a larger number of 1-2tb drives and upgrading them later is good (system complexity - for future expansion - is designed from the beginning, but initial costs are lower due to smaller HDD size). A smaller number of larger HDDs is not as good (as the capacity expands, the costs to do so may be significantly higher at each increment due to need to purchase larger quantities of larger HDDs at once) since the design complexity may limit what each expansion looks like. So, cost is a consideration, but I'll spend more now if it means spending less later (although, probably higher TCO over the long run) OR it buys an easier upgrade path later

My first questions are about VDEV/Pool layout