No Keyboard Response

Status
Not open for further replies.

dextr3k

Cadet
Hi, I admit I am a noob, and I am trying to follow the documentation.

However, I seem to be a special kind of stupid. I have a AMD Athlon X2 with a Biostar Motherboard. I downloaded the FreeNAS-9.1.1.iso and burnt it onto a CD. Everything boots fine until I get to the first screen....

and my USB keyboard and mouse do not do anything at this screen. I get power in the keyboard, but no key works and USB mouse does not move. I know the keyboard is working because I can get into BIOS settings, as well when I unplug the keyboard I get some text about it being disconnected. I also have tried other usb ports as well.

So uh....what am I doing it wrong?

Lurch

Cadet
You don't need the mouse so you can unplug that needless potential complication. What motherboard do you have exactly? Easiest solution if possible is to just use a PS2 keyboard.

dextr3k

Cadet
I have a Biostar A770E mobo. Decently recent that it supports usb keyboards. I am able to control BIOS with it, but not when nas4free or freenas are loaded.

And unfortunately a ps2 keyboard is out of my reach. I am just wondering if its something I am stupidly doing wrong.

Whattteva

Wizard
I've run into this issue before and found out that my keyboard didn't work because I had it plugged in to the USB 3.0 port.
If your motherboard has a USB 3.0 controller on it, make sure you're using the USB 2.0 port.

Lurch

Cadet
I've also had the same issue using front USB ports for keyboards or boot devices. Make sure you're using rear ports.

dextr3k

Cadet
I have tried both front and back ports. And my motherboard does not have usb 3. Thats what makes this such a weird problem. It works with everything else, except when I try to do anything on the computer. I have tried live USB, and iso, and nas4free.

gpsguy