Newbie With Starter Questions

timlab55

Dabbler
I'm a newbie with NAS, so please don't make it hurt so badly like some boards do when a newbie doesn't understand what is trying to be said. I'm hoping this is going to be slow and successful on my end. With that being said, in about 2 days I will be getting my computer back which I want to turn into a DIY NAS. Don't have the money right now to purchase a NAS. Before sending my computer off for repair, I did download the truenas software, but when I did that, I notice that there was two soft wares, which was called "FreeNAS-11.3-U5 and the other was TrueNAS-12.0-U1". So to get this going, which one do I need to download and install?

Thank you

timlab55

Dabbler
I wanted to edit my first post, but can't seem to find an edit button, so I'm going to add it here. I guess I should inform you all WHY I want a NAS. I have two computers. One computer sits in my office, and my other computer sits next to my evening chair. According to what I know about networking, sometimes when I'm on the office computer and save something and then during the evening, I turn on the easy chair computer, I can't connect to the office computer, because the office computer has gone into sleep mode and it doesn't want to wake up. Sounds like me when I go to bed, once I'm in bed don't wake me up for nothing. So having a NAS unit I figure this would be an easy fix. In addition to that, I found out that having a NAS, not only can both my computers connect to it, but also my android TV, both my phones, and other devices. So that is the reason why I want a NAS. As I mentioned in my early post, I'm using an old window PC to do do it.
Thanks for listening.

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
True nas 12.0-u1 is the current latest stable release.

timlab55

Dabbler